top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

Movie Review: Scream VI

Scream VI is the first film to come out this year that I am excited for! You can look at my highly anticipated films of 2023, here!

Scream is a franchise I have loved most of my life! Normally, I'm worried when they make a new movie but since day one of announcing this sequel, I have been excited! I can safely say, this movie is THE BEST! From the locations, the writing, to the acting is mind-blowing. New York adds a creepy, yet truthful, element that even though you're surround by big groups of peopleyou can still feel all alone. Honestly, this is the BEST Scream movie, in my opinion. It hits all the boxes for me. It's silly, but too silly. It's gory, but not too gory. And scary—you know what I'm about to say!


Before we continue, you may be asking "Was Kirby's return worth it?" and my answer is:

FUCK YES! God damn, that woman is amazing and will blow your mind, like she always does!

My reaction leaving the movie: Holy fuck, I just watched that! AHH, that was so good and KIRBY—FUCK YES, SHE'S BACK!!!!

Here are 10 questions you may be wondering...


1. Rating? 8/10.

The movie was the best of the franchise but I still couldn't believe how the main characters ended, especially Melissa Barrera's Sam and Jenna Ortega's Tara. Everything else about the movie was great, but the way the two ended in the movie confused me and made me laugh out loud.


2. Is it scary?

Fuck yes, it is scary! You never where Ghostface is and that is the beauty of the location setting in New York. Everyone is dressed as Ghostface and it is terrifying.


3. Is it funny?

It has its moments, which I love! I think why I'm not a huge fan of the original movies was that they were trying to be funny as well as scary. That kind of threw off the scary vibe. But this movie, it has the perfect amount of funny, but mainly scary.


4. Best actor?

I think it's a tie between the two sisters, Melissa Barrera and Jenna Ortega! Wow, such powerful acting from the two! Melissa Barrera really steps it up in this movie, showing us all why she was casted in the first place! Jenna Ortega is just great, as always! It's nice to see her have some physical range as well in this one!


5. Worst actor?

Jack Champion. He is too much of a cliché that it is too obvious what's going to happen with his character. Personally, he is a forgetful character that I already forgot he was involved until I looked up the cast before writing this review. Waste of time with him. I can't tell you if it was just how he was written and directed, or if it is solely his fault.

6. What did I like?

I liked the new setting. It gave this franchise a fresh start that it needed, but still maintained the tone of the series. It added a more creepier, and deadlier, playing field for Ghostface to show up ANYWHERE!


7. What did I not like?

The main thing I did not care for was how the sisters walked away at the end. I wanted them to live, but they were stabbed TOO MANY TIMES in the third act (Killer's Reveal) that there was no way they just walk away. It was ridiculous for the paramedics to let them go. It was the only part that threw me off and made me laugh so much! I would've loved them to go in an ambulance.


8. Is worth seeing/paying for it in theaters or should I just wait?

YOU SHOULD SEE THIS IN THEATERS! The sounds and the atmosphere the movie creates makes you scared when leaving the movies. In the theater, you are surrounded by people and you normally feel safe. This movie, it makes you feel alone and scared that when leaving the theaters can be scary!


9. Who should see it?

Horror and Scream fans should definitely see this! The movie has SO MANY Easter eggs that a true Scream fan will get! Horror fans will just love it because people are dying left and right in this movie!

I also think fans of New York City, and people who live there, should see it too. It captures the city beautifully!


10. Who should not see it?

If you're not a fan of horror or the series. But that's a given.

I really enjoyed Scream VI! I was so excited to see this movie from day one of announcement and it did not disappoint! Go see this movie now!!


You can check out some more of my reviews, here!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page