top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

TV Review: First Love on Netflix

Updated: May 9, 2023

You are always gonna be my love

Even if someday I fall in love with somebody once again

I'll remember to love, you taught me how

You are always gonna be the one

Now it's still a sad love song

Until I can sing a new one

Above is the lyrics to a song that I have held near, and dear, to my heart for over twenty years! You can imagine my excitement when I found out Netflix was going to make a show based on the song First Love by my FAVORITE singer, Hikaru Utada! This review is in honor of Utada's birthday and watching this show is a great way to celebrate it!


I have listened to Utada for over twenty years and still love them. I love the lyrics and the way they can tell a story with their words. This show, First Love, available on Netflix now is a beautiful story about first love, but also about growth. We all have dreams and wild imaginations on where our life will be when we grow up. As we grow up, some dreams and imaginations are never fulfilled, and this show captures what happens to us when that happens perfectly! Deep down, even as we get older, we're still that little kid dreaming and wishing. Get ready for a rollercoaster of emotions when you watch this show! I highly recommend it.


I love how they were able to honor Utada AND their mother, Keiko Fuji in one particular scene of the show. Utada's mother was a famous Japanese singer, in her own right. It is nice to see a show, based on the songs of Utada, honor them both in such a fun and remarkable way. It shows how much both, Utada and Keiko's, music has meant to the people of Japan.


This show is stunning and emotionally raw like the two songs this is based from, First Love and Hatsukoi(In Japanese, means "First Love). It captures the lines from the lyrics in a hauntedly beautiful way, that I will never hear the two songs the same way again!


Thank you Netflix, for this show! And now for my review, down below!

My reaction after watching 'First Love': "Oh, my God. I got to stop crying. That was beautiful. I have to stop crying... My dog is looking at me... He won't stop. I won't stop. I can't stop crying. I'm so happy this exist... Where's a Kleenex?!" I literally cried, out loud to no one but my dog.

Here are 10 questions you may be wondering about...

1. Rating? 10/10!

It is beautiful, moving, and loving. I cried EVERY EPISODE from 6-9. Every moment you see, from the first episode to the last, has a purpose. It has meaning and once you catch it, it makes you smile.


2. Is it just emotional and dramatic?

It is very emotional and moving!!! Dramatic, not as much. It is not Soap Opera level dramatic; just emotional. Watch it.


3. Best actor?

Hikari Mitsushima. Hands down, the best actor and what makes this show! The casting for this show was phenomenal, but Hikari's performance is grounded in realism and hope; and that makes the show's journey worth watching, from beginning to end!


4. Worst actor?

To be honest, there is nobody in the show that is bad. I thought long and hard on this, everyone is great in the roles they are given!


5. What did I like?

I didn't like it. I LOVED IT. I especially love how much the show was able to honor Utada. in any chance they could! They even honor the LEGENDARY singer, and THIER MOTHER, Japanese singer Keiko Fuji! It is a small scene in one of the episodes, but affective. I loved this show for moving me and inspiring to follow my dreams!!


6. What did I not like?

The pacing in the first few episodes are kind of awkward and long. But as soon as you get to episode 6, it starts to make sense. The first line of the whole series, "Life is like a jigsaw puzzle" captures the show perfectly! So, the pacing in the beginning begins to make sense when you watch the rest of it.


7. Is the series worth watching?

To me, FUCK YES. Do yourself a favor, watch it. I had no doubt that I was going to like this show, and I fucking love it. It is my favorite show!

8. Does Singer Hikaru Utada in the show?

While I can confirm, Utade does not make an appearance, there are homages to not only her, but her mothers and others that she loves dearly. There is a VERY SPECIAL cameo by someone from her Laughter in the Dark special. It is fantastic!


9. Who should see it?

Any person that loves romantic comedies and self-reflective stories, will LOVE THIS SHOW! It is moving, and just stunning! The writing, is PERFECT!


10. Who should not see it?

If you're not a fan of foreign language movies or shows, I don't think you'll have the patience for this show. But I would recommend trying it, who knows?! Maybe you'll love it, too!

Like Utada, this show is pushing a new norm for Japan culture and family aspects today. It is a show I hope brings others joy and that they can accept being themselves, especially in Japan!


It is moving and heart wrenching because it is VERY RELATABLE. We all have dreams and love as children, and this show definitely shows what it is like to grow up with certain dreams and love unfulfilled. It will make you cry. It will move you. You will love it. When you have time to watch it, watch it. It will be worth it.


And that's my review of the show! If there is any other movies/series you want me to cover(anything from any time), contact me! Until then, enjoy reading my other content!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page