top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

My 2022 Movies Review (Best & Worst)

The year of 2022 offered a variety of different movies to us, good and bad. I must admit, I did not see a lot of movies last year, as I should have because I love movies, but 2022 didn't offer a lot of movies I was interested in seeing...

The ones I did see, some I enjoyed and some I did not particularly care for. So, here is my list of 2022 Movies I highly recommend watching, AND 2022 Movies I do not recommend:

2022 Movies I HIGHLY Recommend:

1. Everything Everywhere All At Once

If you don't recall, I did a review for this movie back in June. Please, read it here for the full reason why I loved this movie. I had such a fun time watching this movie. My partner and I had dear friends over and we made whole experience out of this movie! We laughed, cried, and loved this movie. It is one of those movies that you have to see, in order to believe it! so, watch it already! Also, Michelle Yeoh deserves EVERY award there is for her performance!

2. Glass Onion: A Knives Out Sequel

As many of you know, I love murder mysteries! There is a way of writing them that make them instant classics, and Rian Johnson certainly has that technique down as this sequel is a true murder mystery! The technique is very simple: Every murder mystery reveals the killer in the beginning. We don't notice what the author/writer does in the story because the moment the murder mystery starts, we let our minds wander and try to think elaborate ideas of who the killer might be! Glass Onion keeps you guessing, and laughing, from beginning to end!

3. Halloween Ends

I haven't had that much fun in a movie theater is such a long time! Wow, it was so fun being in the audience wondering where Michael Myers could be, cheering on Laurie Strode(aka Jamie Lee Curtis), and just witnessing the epic ending to an epic slasher film! I have been a big fan of the Halloween series for most of my life and to see this conclusion was worth the wait. I know many are not a fan of this entry into the franchise, but as soon as the ending happened in this I was like, "FUCK YES, that's an ending!" I didn't realize how much I followed Laurie Strode's story and how Michael Myers brutally fucked the town of Haddonfield until watching this movie. It was such a journey, that I'm happy I got to experience all of these movies (Halloween (2018)-Halloween Ends) in theaters! If you are a slasher fan and Halloween fan, you'll appreciate this movie!

4. The Lost City

Talk about a Romancing the Stone remake! If you loved that movie, you'll love this movie! It is very similar. Sandra Bullock and Channing Tatum are able to transport you on a fun ride, and I'm all for it! I had such a fun time watching this movie and seeing Daniel Radcliff be so ridiculously evil! If you're not a fan of Romancing the Stone, I will suggest not watching this. But the plus side is, you get to enjoy Channing Tatum naked for that slug scene and it is pretty hot!

5. The Batman

Wow, what a great movie for this comic book entry! It captures Batman perfectly as the Detective Batman from the comics. For as much shit and jokes Robert Patterson was getting for playing Batman, I have found to love him as an actor thanks to this movie. He knows how to act under a mask and it is fun to see! It is challenging to pull that off, but Patterson makes it look effortless. It is a true mystery ride from beginning to end, and I'm looking forward to the sequel!


2022 Movies I HIGHLY Do Not Recommend:

1. Luck

Do not be fooled, the trailer at least makes this look decent but it is anything but decent. Luck may have an incredible cast (Simon Pegg, Jane Fonda, and Whoopi Goldberg) but it does not save the movie. Even those actors seemed like they were just reading lines and the animation didn't match their voices. It was unforgettable, super predictable, and extremely boring. I remember sitting and watching it, thinking, "Is this thing over with yet?"

2. Death on the Nile

I'm a huge Hercule Poirot fan and a fan of the novel. But this movie, gets a bit too long and too boring towards the third act and ruins the fun mystery before you get to the revealing of the killer! It is fun in the beginning being transported to Egypt, but by the middle of the movie (and the second murder) it just drags. And the ending happens. Like mentioned, I am a huge fan of Poirot and it seems Kenneth Branagh and his team forgot what makes Hercule Poirot, the Hercule Poirot! The ending does the character dirty and ruins what the entire franchise tries to do in the first entry, Murder on the Orient Express.

3. Sonic the Hedgehog 2

I was thoroughly surprised on how bad this movie was compared to the first movie! I was excited for this movie and then couldn't even finish the movie! I think my partner and I were bored/tired, so we decided to watch it another day but never went back to it. It has some funny parts (from what I saw), but seriously, it is a boring movie. That is sad to say since the first movie was so much fun!

4. Doctor Strange: Multiverse of Madness

For a movie with Madness in the title, there was very little Madness happening in this film. I do appreciate the film, but at most parts, it seemed to irritate me. The main characters have a sense of urgency throughout the film to get away from the movie's villain, but they don't mind stopping and literally "take in the view" at points. I think the director and writer was trying to show off the different universes and worlds, that they couldn't figure out what pacing to use. I also am a big fan of Wanda in the MCU, and loved the Disney+ show, WandaVision. This movie was able to destroy what character building they did for Wanda in the show. It was an okay movie. It's not good, or bad, just meh.

5. Ticket to Paradise

This wasn't a terrible movie, it just didn't have an impact on me one way or another. If you like rom-coms, it's okay but you know the story inside and out that the only exciting thing about this movie is seeing Julia Roberts and George Clooney in a movie together. I will never forget watching this movie and my partner came in the room saying, "Oh, look, Sandra Bullock in another Sandra Bullock movie; doing what Sandra Bullock does best." I stood there, staring at him for a moment as he felt proud of that comment. I eventually replied, "This is Julia Roberts. Not Sandra Bullock." It was a funny moment for me that ended up ruining the experience of the movie. The whole movie, even when it was over, I kept thinking, that was an okay Sandra Bullock movie.

So, those are my Top 5 Best & Worst Movies of 2022! Stay tuned for next month (March) as I will share my Top 5 Movies I am looking forward to in 2023!


Thank you for reading!!



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page