top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

TV Review: Grace and Frankie Complete Series


Grace and Frankie is a fun ride! When I first heard this series was happening, I knew it would be gold. And then it came out in 2015 and I was right. From the moment I saw the four legendary actors in the very first scene, I was hooked! Here is my review of the now-iconic series!

Grace and Frankie have finally come to end with seven seasons and 94 episodes. Is it a perfect show? No (what show is?). Is it a journey worth taking? Absolutely. While the writing was sometimes repetitive in every season, the acting and character arc was just brilliant! Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin stole the whole show! I'm so happy those women got to work on this and I'm happy they're still working! They are a delight to watch and bring so many emotions and laughter to every episode. You will not be disappointed with them. As for the husbands, played by Sam Waterston and Martin Sheen, I did not care for their characters throughout the series. They're awkward and constantly fighting, over and over. They are both great actors but it was not the best performance to see them in. While I did not care for them in most of the series, they were incredible in the final season. They became my instant favorite! It was crazy how that shifted so fast! They will blow you away with this powerful performance as they tackle the touchiest subject any couple will have to go through, at the end of their lives...

As far as the children: Mallory (Brooklyn Decker), Brianna (June Diane Raphael), Nwabudike (Baron Vaughn), and Coyote (Ethan Embry), they have the biggest growth of all the characters in the series. Baron Vaughn's Bud was the weakest character. But I don't blame the actor. There is only so much you could do with that character. He had some defining moments, but not a lot. June Diane Raphael's Brianna was hands down the favorite character of the show. Raphael was able to bring layers and depths to the complicated character and still managed to make us love her. Ethan Embry's Coyote was great to see him go from recovering addict to a grown adult. I wasn't the biggest fan of his character, but I could see the growth they were taking with him. Towards the end, he managed to be one of my favorites. I think the biggest growth of the children characters was Brooklyn Decker's Mallory. She went from a "perfect" housewife to an independent woman who realizes she, too, has the potential to do something with her life and be more than just a housewife and mother.

I loved the show and you will too! There may be some problems but the cast manages to make you come back for more! Below I will be discussing some of the burning questions you might have for the series Grace and Frankie. I will share what I thought of the series, as a whole, as well as what I thought of when watching the 9 to 5 reunion!

Please, read below!

My reaction after watching the final episode: Okay, it's over... I expected more but I liked it. Now to have dinner!

Here are 10 questions you may be wondering...


1. Rating? (For the series as a whole) 7/10.

While the series, as a whole, is great with the best casting. Some of the storylines were too obvious and could get repetitive at times. Every season had the same kind of conflict for the four main characters: Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, Sam Waterston, and Martin Sheen). For Grace and Frankie in every season, they always would have a bigger fight than the previous season and then conclude that they needed each other. For the husbands' Sol and Robert, they really never get to enjoy themselves as a couple. They're always constantly fighting... To be honest, I think the characters with the biggest growth in the series are the children. Grace and Frankie have grown too, but they've had the same chemistry since season 1!


2. Is it funny?

Oh, fuck yes! I have grown up with these legendary actors, so it's nice to see them get the work/recognition they deserve! You will be laughing out loud for a lot of episodes!


3. Best actor?

Honestly, I have to say Lily Tomlin is the best actor in the show. She could make me laugh and cry. Sometimes in the same scene! All of the actors, from the main four to the children, are incredible actors but they weren't given as much range as Tomlin was given throughout the series. So, it makes Lily Tomlin's character of Frankie the most compelling!


4. Worst actor?

I hate to say this... I know many people will hate me for it. I hate myself for saying this... While the show has incredible actors throughout the show, the worst actor in it is Dolly Parton... I don't think it's her fault though! The writing wasn't the best for the most anticipated reunion of the whole series. I could tell from watching it, that there were struggles filming this scene. Bear with me as I'll explain my reasoning below!

5. What did I like?

Every scene with Grace and Frankie was pure gold. Honestly, those two actors are so fun to watch. They make the show. I LOVED the character of Joan Margaret. Probably the best guest star in the series. Her lines are so quick-witted and unexpected, that I think I laughed the most with her. The next favorite was seeing the evolution of the children in this series. I loved Brianna the most (who didn't?), but seeing Mallory and Coyote grow into the characters they became at the end was a nice touch. And for the husbands, I loved the way they ended them. It was sad, but it was also hopeful. I wasn't a fan of the husbands throughout the show until the final season.


6. What did I not like?

There was not much I did not like. Mainly, I didn't like how repetitive the series could get every season. I'm just happy it ended here because another season probably would've been a disaster. I also felt the show could've ended on a better note. It was good, but not one where you actually sat on it thinking, "What will I watch now?" or "How will I go on?"


7. Is the ending/series worth watching?

The series is definitely worth watching! It's full of emotion and such a great thing to watch. You will have a great time watching the series, from start to finish! As for the ending, honestly, I think the ones who truly got a beautiful ending were the husbands... As I said, I did not care for them throughout the show. I felt they were unbelievable as a couple, as well as awkward. But the way their stories go in the final season... They were able to take a touchy subject and help you learn there is hope in that situation. I cried the most for them over every other character. When the show ended, I honestly was like, "Okay, that's over with." But what still sticks with me is how they ended the husbands. Such incredible actors. So, yes, the ending may have not been the greatest but at least it was a satisfying end to a great series!


8. How was the '9 to 5' Reunion?

To be honest, it really isn't good... I hate myself for saying this but that scene was a mess. You could tell Lily Tomlin and Jane Fonda weren't in the same room with Dolly Parton! The three were just acting off of each other and it was bad... This was the reunion we were asking for when the show began in 2015. This was the reunion we have been asking for since 1981! Unfortunately, because the women weren't in the same room with each other, Dolly Parton gave a bland performance. I know she can act, but this scene was bad. I could even see, at certain points, all three women looking at their directions but missing their marks and then changing their focus to where they were told to look! It's that bad of a scene. It was so bad, that I checked out of the scene and I completely forgot what was happening until the next scene, without Dolly, took my attention. Another thing I was not happy with was the writing. This is Dolly Parton, Lily Tomlin, and Jane Fonda in a scene together again! The writing was way off and just didn't connect the way it should've. Honestly, those three deserve a better reunion. All in all, the three gave it the best they could with what they were given. But it just wasn't good. Thank you for going on that rant with me. I am very passionate about writing and those three. So, I feel, as good as Grace and Frankie are, they deserved better!


9. Who should see it?

If you're a fan of the movie 9 to 5 or the show The Golden Girls, you will love this show! It's funny, with a lot of heart. Just watch the first episode, and if you don't like it—you won't like the rest!

10. Who should not see it?

If you, for whatever reason, hate these women—don't watch it! Lily Tomlin and Jane Fonda are at the forefront of this show, clearly, it's called Grace and Frankie! If you don't like this kind of humor, don't watch it. Again, my advice for this show is: Watch the first episode, and if you don't like it—you won't like the rest!

Grace and Frankie is definitely a classic, with legendary actors! I'm happy I got to see every episode, from start to finish!


Well, that's my review of the show! If there is any other movies/series you want me to cover(anything from any time), contact me! Until then, enjoy reading my other content!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page