top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

TV Review: The Afterparty on Apple TV

Updated: Dec 29, 2022


Tiffany Haddish as Detective Danner in The Afterparty Promo

I can honestly say this is now one of my favorite shows of all time! If you love murder mysteries and/or you're a movie buff—you will absolutely love The Afterparty!

The Afterparty is a murder mystery comedy series that stars Tiffany Haddish, Sam Richardson, Zoe Chao, Ike Barinholtz, Ben Schwartz, Ilana Glazer, and Dave Franco! From the cast to the clever writing, this show will have you hooked from episode 1! This 8-episodes show has the best casting, which, is rare to find in any series. It is a hidden gem that is worth your time and energy as you enjoy the ride trying to find out 'whodunnit' and what are they going to do in the next episode! Every episode is a surprise genre (and yes, I said genre! You have to see it to believe it)!

If you're a murder mystery lover, honestly, this show is for you, for sure! It's hard to find a good murder mystery nowadays because this genre is hard to capture... But this series does a great job of adding elements of suspense and mystery that you will be guessing from start to finish! If you are a movie buff, every episode features a new genre in the mystery that makes it fun to guess what genre they'll do in the next episode, and will they pull it off?! Let me tell you—they pull it off in every episode! For both, murder mystery lovers and movie buffs, you will not be disappointed!

The cast, writing, and directing make this show great and you can tell! Every actor is phenomenal in their roles and makes you connect with each and every one of them! Tiffany Haddish... SHE MAKES THIS SHOW! She needs to make more and more seasons of this! She plays Detective Danner. And as a murder mystery lover... She is now one of my favorite detective characters I have ever seen! She is witty, funny as hell, and shines in every scene! Tiffany Haddish is the best part of the show and I want to see more of her in this role. Now, what hurts the show and could be bad for the series? It's on Apple TV... Most people don't have that service and the ones who do, only have it because it came with their Apple devices. Being on Apple TV could hurt the show in the long run, but this show is worth watching!

The Afterparty Cast Promo

My reaction after watching 'The Afterparty': Oh, my God! I hope there's another season coming out! I loved Tiffany Haddish! The revealing of the murderer and the whole show—perfection! (There is another season coming, soon!)

The Afterparty Cast Clues Promo

Here are 10 questions you may be wondering about...

1. Rating? 10/10!

Honestly, as a murder mystery fan and movie buff, everything is there! They're able to give subtle hints to who is the killer while still managing to let you have fun along the way! Every episode features movie genres that make each episode stand out on its own. Every cast member is simply incredible that there is no bad character. Tiffany Haddish as Detective Danner pulls off every moment you see her on-screen. I can't express enough how much I love this series—WATCH ALREADY!!


2. Is it funny?

Oh, fuck yes! Tiffany Haddish is enough to sell you on it being funny! Sam Richardson and Ben Schwartz, I don't know their works but I want to watch anything and everything they're in. They manage to hold their own with the funny Haddish. Seriously, the whole cast is fucking funny!


3. Best actor?

The whole cast is amazing but I have to say the standout performance was of Ilana Glazer. She had such a wide range of emotions for her character! She was able to pull being drunk, scared, emotional, funny, and serious all too well in every episode. Glazer is just perfect in her role and I would love to be friends with her character!


4. Worst actor?

Honestly, again, everyone is great. But I have to say, Dave Franco. It's not his fault. He wasn't given much, compared to the other cast members. It was hard to see him shine in a scene when everyone else was stealing his thunder. But he is still good in the role he was given.

5. What did I like?

I loved how the show manages to get the elements of a murder mystery right! Is the mystery easy to solve? Yes, if you know murder mysteries. If not, you're in for a ride! I loved how they were able to bring a new and fun detective character to life. I'm telling you, Tiffany Haddish as Detective Danner, you will want to see more!! I also loved it brought in movie references and genres to the series but did not take away from the murder mystery. You honestly get the best of both worlds.


6. What did I not like?

I loved this show. I guess I don't like that I have to wait for another season! Such a great show!


7. You mentioned the show has different movie genres... Which one did you like most?

Honestly, I loved the musical episode the best. Yes, there is a musical episode! Each song and performance manages to make you giggle throughout the episode run. They bring in so many genres of music that it was fun to see what they were going to do next. Again, Ben Schwartz is amazing. He shines in the musical episode! He should just do a musical comedy movie! I would watch it!


8. Is getting Apple TV for this show worth it?

I would say it is... Apple TV gives you a seven-day trial and then it's $4.99 a month. Honestly, this show is so good—you can watch all 8 episodes before the seven-day trial is over and then just cancel your subscription. If that is what you want to do! I'm telling you, this show is so good!


9. Who should see it?

If you're a murder mystery lover or a movie buff, this show is exactly for you!


10. Who should not see it?

I will say, watch the first episode. If you don't like the first episode—just stop watching. It'll be like that every episode. The first episode captures you instantly to want to know more and explore more of each character's story. If you don't like the first episode, stop watching.

The Afterparty Suspects

Conclusion: That's my review of The Afterparty on Apple TV! It is funny and mysterious! It will have you guessing and laughing from start to finish! Watch all 8 episodes of The Afterparty, season 1, on Apple TV now!

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page