top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

Movie Review: Scream 2022

Get ready to Scream because this movie is perfect and then some! This was the sequel we have all been waiting for. If you're a fan of the original Scream fan, you will love this requel. If you're not familiar with the meaning requel, you will after watching this movie. The new Scream is exactly what we needed, and it was worth the wait. The storyline is simple but able to capture the essence we have been missing from the three sequels of the franchise. It manages to correct any mistakes from the previous ones and set us up if the studio decides to make more Scream.

Side note: If you're planning to watch the original three, they manage to utilize them perfectly. Neve, David, and Coutney all shine in their own moments of the movie but they are not in it as much. Don't worry though: The new cast make the whole movie. We're in good hand. It was a nice send off if the original cast decide not to return.



My reaction leaving the movie: This was the sequel we needed. I love it. I wanna watch it again... right now...




Here are 10 questions you may be wondering...


1. Rating? 9/10. The only reason it's a 9 is because the story is simple and ripped from the original Scream but still made beautifully. I loved it!


2. Is it scary?

There are jumpy moments but like all Scream movies, it's not scary. I think the scariest moments is figuring out where Ghostface will appear next, and this movie definitely does that. Ghostface is used throughout the movie in pretty much every scene, and it never got old.


3. Is it funny?

It has a few laughs and jokes but doesn't take away from the movies. The sequels have had a lot of jokes, a little too many, but this movie manages to space them out perfectly.


4. Best actor?

My favorites were Jenna Ortega, Mason Gooding, and I especially loved Jasmin Savoy Brown. The whole cast is great but those three are the standouts.


5. Worst actor?

There weren't any bad actors in this, but I was not a fan of Kyle Gallner's character of Vince. It was a bland role. It wasn't that Melissa Barrera wasn't bad, but she wasn't good. For being the new final girl, she didn't have the presence that Neve Campbell had in the original film. With the talented new cast around her, it didn't make her stand out. I hope they fix that with future movies going forward.

6. What did I like?

I love the new cast. I especially loved how much this was a true tribute to Wes Craven. The man who started it all. It was a beautiful way to send off the original cast and bring in new ones. I honestly wouldn't be upset if the original casts are never in the other movies. And I hope they do more.

7. What did I not like?

The storyline was simple but like I said, they made it work. From the kills to Ghostface, I loved it. So, there isn't anything I really hated in this. I can't wait to watch it again.

8. Is worth seeing/paying for it in theaters or should I just wait?

The story is simple enough to wait to watch it at home but if you want the jump scares with the loud sound, watch it theaters. I loved it but next time I see it will be at home. It's not something you have to see in theaters.

9. Who should see it?

If you're a horror fan or Scream lovers- SEE THIS NOW!

10. Who should not see it?

If you're not a horror fan, do yourself a favor and watch something else. Perhaps a Disney film.



I loved the original and Scream 4. I would watch them on repeat. This Scream will be added to my list. It was incredible and I hope they make more Scream movies!!!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page