top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

Movie Review: Death on the Nile


My overall review for this recent take on the 1937 classic novel, Death on the Nile, is: Gal Gadot shines the most of all the actors in this film. It is a beautiful movie with beautiful scenery and music that keeps you hooked every minute. The cast is perfectly cast, especially Gal Gadot as the character of Linnett Doyle. I have read the book and now, cannot imagine a perfect casting of the character as Gadot was in the role.


Unfortunately, if you are a fan of Poirot- you will not like this movie at all. The movie took way too many liberties with the characters and storylines. Which is fine because it is a movie based on a novel. You have to accept when movies don't go by the books. It happens. Harry Potter happened. Please, it is time to move on. But with the character of Poirot, there is something special about that character in the books. When reading the books, which I have read all 33, the moment he enters the story- the energy changes. There is a hook to him that is undeniably delightful.


The movie tries its best with changes a few things from the book to appeal to modern audiences- which, again, is fine. I actually loved the changes they made except, again, for one part: Poirot. The movie tries to share a backstory at the beginning of the film with the sleuth and his infamous mustache. Yes, they try to explain the mustache backstory of Poirot. It is executed poorly and makes you question, "why the hell wasn't in the first movie?" SPOILER ALERT: He is wounded in a war, leaving his face badly scarred, so he covers the scars with a mustache...


If the beginning doesn't put a sour taste in your mouth about how they're handling the character of Poirot- you should be fine watching this movie. But it gets worse for that character. Especially at the end of the movie, which, I will not be sharing in this review. Just take my word for it: If you are a fan of the character Poirot-- Do yourself a favor and do not watch this movie. You will be highly disappointed.

For those who don't care and want a great murder mystery, GO SEE THIS MOVIE. There are so many twists and turns. The acting is great, the story is beautiful, the scenery makes you wish you were on vacation, and the music is to die for. Yes, pun intended because there is a lot of death.


My reaction leaving the theater: This movie was a blunder of creative choices that fucked the character of Poirot. Do they even know the character of Poirot at all? But Gal Gadot was great.

Here are 10 questions you may be wondering...

1. Rating?

7/10. Honestly, the only reason I really hated the movie was that they simply do not understand the character of Poirot. The only other thing I would say was bad, was the pacing of the film. Some parts felt like they were too long.


2. Is it a good murder mystery?

Honestly, yes. Just like the book, the movie keeps you guessing the whole time. It is an enjoyable ride for anyone who is a mystery lover, like myself.


3. Is it predictable?

Definitely not. It will seem like it's predictable in parts, but until the end, you won't see it coming-- unless you're like me. I knew "whodunnit" when I read the novel and it was an amazing feeling being right.


4. Best actor?

Hands down, Gal Gadot. She was the character. If you read the book, you would see it too. You felt for her. She was sassy, charming, sexy, and could be serious when she needed to. It was interesting to see her in this role and I felt it was perfect casting.


5. Worst actor?

Rose Leslie. While she is VERY good in Game of Thrones (I can still hear her say "Jon Snow"), she was unforgettable in this role. She played a little part in most of the movie but (SPOILER ALERT) when she died, both my partner and I were like, "who's this bitch?" It took us the rest of the movie to remember, "Oh yeah, it was this bitch". Very unforgettable and honestly, a pointless character for such a good actor.


6. What did I like?

I love the cast, scenery, and music the most. The music stole the whole movie. The cast was stellar. And like I said before, this movie will make you want to go on vacation.


7. What did I not like?

If I need to repeat this, you obviously weren't actually reading this review. I HATED WHAT THEY DID WITH POIROT. It ruined the character I have loved for 33 books. Ridiculous.


8. Is worth seeing/paying for it in theaters or should I just wait?

Honestly, it was a great movie, but I would wait until it is available for streaming. It is a beautiful and cozy film to snuggle up with your loved ones and enjoy the ride. You and your loved ones will have so much fun trying to figure out who the murderer is. Definitely good for streaming.


9. Who should see it?

If you love a good mystery- you will love this movie.


10. Who should not see it?

If you're a HUGE FAN of the character Poirot and what Agatha Christie created for that character- don't torture yourself. You will be cussing up a storm as I did!

I hope this review helped! It is a beautiful murder mystery that will have you guessing. It is a fun ride for everyone to enjoy! I'm telling you, the music and cast are amazing! Death on the Nile is out in theaters now, so if you want to see it- SEE IT! If not, it's worth waiting to watch it on stream. It's not a Marvel movie, so none of your friends are going to spoil the movie.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page