top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

It's Okay to Spend a Day Off Doing Nothing. Sometimes Your Body Needs It!


I think one of the hardest things for me to do is to sit back and do nothing on a day off. It makes me feel like I've wasted time and that is not okay. But actually, doing nothing sometimes is normal. Your body needs it!

What made me think of doing nothing on a day off was from my friend. Her and I were on the phone with each other and even though I knew there was nothing wrong with doing nothing on a day off, I needed to hear her say it to me. It got me thinking... Maybe I should try and write about it. I recently had a day off and how I spent it was sitting back, and doing nothing. I just sat on the couch and binged shows I have been hearing about, but never have the time to watch. Now I will say right now, it was hard at first. I kept thinking I had to do this or I had to that! But after the first two hours, I realized I should just sit back with my coffee and just enjoy the day.

I spent the day doing something I have always dreaded doing: Doing nothing. To my surprise, I loved it. I just had my feet up and thought of nothing else but the shows I was watching. After that experience I felt well-rested, more energized, and calmer than how I have been recently. I wanted to touch on this subject because I know there are people out there, like me, that have the same feelings that I have about doing nothing on days off. I'm here to say, it's okay. Sometimes, our body just need a break from going. Sometimes, we need more stimulation for our brains than just everyday life. Sometimes, we just need to stop. I think we're taught we have to go, go, go because one day life will be over and we need to live it up while we can. I'm here to say, life will be over anyways, for all of us. So, why not just enjoy the ride we make for ourselves? I think sometimes we get so focused on the endgame—we forget to enjoy it along the way. It's time to enjoy what life offers while you work towards the endgame of your life. It's time to stop, and do nothing.

What did I do all day? As I said before, I sat on the couch and watched streaming shows for most of the day. I watched Yellowjackets, I highly recommend that show. It is an eerie-fun ride! I watched The Afterparty, that is now one of my favorite shows of all time! It's a comedy murder mystery and brings in movie references that is fun to catch! So, if you're a movie and mystery lover, like I am, I highly recommend that show! I made myself food. I know it doesn't sound like much but when you live with your partner and you're constantly cooking for others—cooking to yourself is enjoyable. The same goes for having the whole pot of coffee to yourself. My partner and I are coffee lovers. So, when I get the pot of coffee all to myself, without sharing, it's heaven. And then the last thing I did for my day of nothing was I didn't think... I didn't think of anything! I know it doesn't sound impressive. But getting a day where you don't have to think of anything. You don't have to think of your life, future, schoolwork, work life, your goals—sometimes you need that.

So, why am I writing this? I encourage everyone reading this to take a day off and do nothing. You'd be surprised on how much better you'll feel. I will not lie, it will feel weird to just 'check out' from the world and just do nothing. But after awhile, you'll start to enjoy it. I'm one who never thought I would like a day like that but now, I look forward to days I can actually 'shut down'. So, I encourage you to wake up when you want to. I encourage you to make a pot of coffee, or tea, or water; whatever floats your boat! I encourage you to put your butt on the couch and see where your TV takes you! I encourage you to make whatever food you want or just order takeout! I encourage you to have a day to you! You'll be surprised on how much more relaxed, energized, and calm your body is!

I highly recommend a day off to do nothing but I also recommend doing what you want to do! I'm not forcing you to do anything, just do you and enjoy it!


Have fun doing nothing!

11 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page