top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

My Japanese Stories 「私の日本語の物語」


Since I was a kid, I have always liked the Japanese language. I spoke about why in my post, please read here. When I was in high school, I took a Japanese language class. But I did not study... I was terrible at studying!

Last year, I took a Japanese class. I loved it! Since then, I have written three stories that I want to share on my blog. I wrote a poem, a song, and a scary folklore. I have always wanted to be a writer since I was a kid. Now I can write in English and Japanese! I'm not that good at writing Japanese stories... But I'm trying!

「はじめまして!! すみません, ちょっと日本語を話します。

子供 の 時, 日本語をいつも好きでした。前の投稿を読みください! 高校生の 時, 日本語のクラスがありました。でも, 勉強しませんでした。。。勉強するのが下手でした!

去年, 日本語のクラスがありました。大好き でしたよ! 作家なりたいです。は英語と日本語に書きますよ! 日本語の物語を書くのが上手じゃない。でも, しようとしています!」


Below is the English and Japanese translation. I also share the story behind them, too!

「下に物語がありますよ!」


First story: 一人で 「Alone」

When I wrote this poem, I was celebrating my two-year anniversary with my partner. I was feeling a little grim. I came to realize that we walk towards death, everyday. It is grim. But writing this story helped me realize that I'm not afraid. When I was younger, I was afraid of being alone. Now, I'm not. It is a blessing to have someone in your life. It is also a blessing to be alone. Together, we're on this big planet. And that's okay.

「このは彼ました。いっしょには三です。世界を思います。怖いね。毎日, 死に 歩く。ちょっとおっかない。でも, は怖くない。彼がいます。子供 の 時, 世界がすごい怖いと思いました。は怖くない。世界が大きいねが大丈夫。」


一人で (Alone)

私は一人。(I am alone.)

それは何です か。(What is that?)

生命。。。(Life…)

それは何です か。(What is that?)

毎日 (Everyday)

死に 歩く。(Walking to death.)

一人にこの大きい世界。(I am one person in this big world.)

鳥が飛ぶ。(The birds fly.)

くまはかりをする。(The bears hunt.)

魚は泳ぐ。泳ぐ。泳ぐ。(The fishes swim. Swim. Swim.)

私は歩く。歩く。歩く。(I walk. Walk. Walk.)

毎日 (Everyday)

一人で (Alone)

私は一人。(I am alone.)

それからあなたがいました。(And then there was you.)

あなた (You)

にぎやかです。あなたがいるから。(I am lively. Because of you.)

嬉しいです。あなたがいるから。(I am happy. Because of you.)

私の笑みはよりおおきいですね。(My smile is bigger.)

肌は輝く。(My skin is glowing.)

一緒に (Together)

世界と向き合う。(We face the world.)

恋が始まる。(Love begins.)

一緒に (Together)

僕らが立つ。(We stand.)

手に手。(Hand in hand.)

今日, 一人はありません。(Today, I am not alone.)

Today, I am me.

Second story: 影の男 「The Shadow Man」

I love folklore. I wanted to create something creepy. As a kid, I loved the scary stories our parents would share to make us do something like eating our vegetables, doing our chores, going to bed early, etc. Growing up, I have always had images of a shadow figure. I would say, "If you see the Shadow Man, hide your hands". I felt he would grab your hand and take you away. It was creepy, but over the years, I was used to it.

I got the inspiration to write this story when I was walking my dog, Hiro. I have been teaching him Japanese and I do a countdown with him, in Japanese. Then it hit me-- I had to do a story like this. It just fell into place. I even made a short animated movie out of this tale. Starring my friend, Mizu and High School Sensei, Bernau.

I made the movie during the summer. Sensei Bernau helped a lot! Together, we wrote the screenplay in June. We recorded the voice work in July. It was an exciting process. You can watch the movie on YouTube, here! Writing and making this movie was fun.

NEWS FLASH: I have seen this movie a billion times!

I think it's a fascinating idea that shadows are every where, so there is no escape. It makes the story/Shadow Man even creepier, in my opinion.

Please, share this story with your kids at night!

「民間伝承が大好きす。気味の悪いの映画を作ったいでした。怖いの映画が大好きす。去年の夏に影の男を作りました。影の男は短いアニメーションす。YouTubeで映画ます。エキサイティングでした。書いて作るのが楽しいでした。ここで映画ください!!

子供と物語を共有しください!」


影の男 (The Shadow Man)

これは、物語 です (This is a tale)

これ は 本当でしょうか? (Could this be true?)

彼 は あなたのまえに あらわれる (He comes for you.)

ねむれない とき (When you cannot sleep.)

びょう読み が 始まる (The countdown begins.)

やってみて。もう一度。(Try. Try Again.)

彼 は 来ます (He’s coming.)

十二, 十一, 十。。。(12, 11, 10…)

彼 は 影に 隠れる (He hides in the shadows)

あなたが 眠りに おちいるのを 見ている。(Watching as you sleep)

おき ない で (Don’t wake up.)

彼は、じっと 待っている (He’s waiting.)

はやく 寝て、(Sleep.)

彼 は あなたを さらう (He’ll take you away.)

日の出前に (Before the sun rises.)

彼 は あなたを さらっていく (He’ll take you away.)

九, 八, 七。。。(9, 8, 7…)

光 (Light.)

闇 (Dark.)

常に影が あります。(There is always shadow.)

走って, かくれる, でも (Run, hide, but,)

逃げられない (Can’t escape.)

彼 は 来ます (He’s coming.)

目 を とじて (Close your eyes.)

あなたが眠るのを見ている (Watching you sleep.)

六, 五, 四。。。(6, 5, 4…)

影の男 に 要注意 (Beware the Shadow Man.)

彼 は 鋭い歯牙 (He has sharp teeth.)

白い目 (White eyes.)

長い 爪 (Long claws.)

彼 は あなたを さらいにくる。(He comes for you.)

もう、ねてる?まだ ねてない? (Are you sleeping yet?)

がんばって ねてみて。(Try Harder.)

明日 は 来ません。(You will not see tomorrow.)

三, 二, 一。。。(3, 2, 1…)

走って、走って、走って (Run, Run, Run.)

後ろを みないで。(Do not look back.)

走って、走って、(Run, Run.)

もうすぐ ほとんど朝です (The morning is almost here.)

これは、物語 です (This is a tale.)

それとも 真実? (Or is it real?)

走って、(Run.)

影の男は ここ に います。(The Shadow Man Comes.)

ゼロ。(Zero.)

Third story: おどるの 「Dancing」

This is new. I wrote this song for my brother. He always wanted to sing a song in Japanese, so I offered to help write something. I felt this was a song I needed to write at the time because there was so much sadness around me. My friend's were losing loved ones. The pandemic has been awful for us all and I felt we needed something to smile. At the same time, Hikaru Utada came out with their new album Bad モード, which this song is heavily inspired from! I think that dancing is good to do for everybody. I'm a horrible dancer. But it make me happy. The world is very dark, but dancing brings light. It's important to remember everything will end, so why not make the best of everyday.

これは新しいす。兄歌詞を書きました。兄は音楽を作るのが大好き。兄は日本の歌を歌ったい。私達は日本の音楽が大好き! 宇多田 ヒカルが一番大好き。歌詞を書の時, どこにでもに悲しみがあり ました。世界に幸せを持ってきたいした。歌詞を書の時, 宇多田 ヒカルの新しい音楽アルバムを聞きました。それは私にインスピレーションを与えました。幸せの歌詞が欲しかった。おどるのは幸せを持ってくると思う。おどるのが好きが, おどるのがとても下手。世界はとても闇。でも, おどるのは光を持ってくる。踊りましょう!!」


Verse 1:

うれしくない (You’re upset)

わかるよ。(I can see that.)

ぜんぜん、いい日じゃない。(It’s not a good day)

一人になる。(To be alone)

でも、一人じゃない (You are not alone)

ここに いるよ。(I’m here)

手をつないで (Holding hands)

ここよ。(I’m here)

Chorus:

いじわるな人を (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The mean ones)

せかいを (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The world)

おどるの (Dancing)

そう、おどりたい。(That’s what I want)

おどるの (Dancing)

With you

Verse 2:

かなしまないで。(Don’t be sad.)

今は一時的 (Now is a short phase.)

おどって、(Let’s dance)

涙を忘れましょう。(And forget the tears.)

私はあいをひょうげんするの (I’m)

がじょうずじゃない。(not good at love)

でも、(But)

やってみて (I’m trying)

Chorus:

いじわるな人を (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The mean ones)

せかいを (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The world)

おどるの (Dancing)

そう、おどりたい。(That’s what I want)

おどるの (Dancing)

With you

Verse 3:

こわい? (Scared?)

私も (Me too)

せかいは大きい (The world is big)

そして むずかしい (And difficult)

危険と (There is danger)

死がある (There is death.)

あなたがいるから, (That’s fine)

だいじょうぶ。(Because there is you.)

Final Chorus:

いじわるな人を (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The mean ones)

せかいを (Let’s forget)

忘れましょう (The world)

いっしょに (Together)

私たちは歌う。(We’ll sing.)

おどって、(Let’s dance)

涙を忘れましょう。(And forget the tears.)

I want to write more Japanese stories in the future. Waiting for inspiration. One day.

Thank you for reading!

「今度に日本語の物語をもっと書いたいです。インスピレーション待ちます。

ありがと ございました!!」


23 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page