top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

My Interview with Johnny Castillo, Stand-Up Comedian


Whenever I get together with Johnny, there is always a story to tell. Johnny is such a "down-to-Earth" person, that knows when to tell the best joke for the current situation. I look forward to any chance I get to work with him (I try a lot to work with him) and it is always a treat when I do get that chance!

I first met Johnny when I was filming for my web series, Single. The show centered around a homosexual man, Perry Brown, who becomes single and has to combat life alone. Johnny played a bit part in the show where Perry has a date with him and it turns out he is recently divorced. It was a funny bit to film. I have never met him before shooting and when we went to rehearse the scene, he informed me, that he too, has been divorced in real life. That started a beautiful bonding moment. I knew from that one little scene, that Johnny would go far in comedy work. I never imagined, but not surprised, that he became a stand-up comedian.

To be a successful comedian you have to bring humility and humor to the table; you have to process every moment as you connect with your audience and those around you; you have to be you and just have fun doing that, and Johnny does all that and more. When I think of that show from years ago, one scene that still sticks out in my mind is Johnny's scene. He was able to take a real moment from his life and manage to make it fun for everyone to watch. I was able to sit down with Johnny and talk about: What made him decide to perform stand-up? Best and worst show? What does he think about the Will Smith and Dave Chapelle experience? And what does he do when he is not doing stand-up?

Please, read below!

At what age did you start to do stand-up and what was that experience like?

I was 29. (Thinks a moment) Yeah, 29. So, three years ago. I started late and it’s been overwhelming. To start and jump up in front of people who are watching and judging. But now, it’s great! It’s better now.

I saw your video at the Keenan Thompson Special. I didn’t know this about you, you’re an introvert. What is that experience like for you? Do you have an onstage persona or are you you?

Yeah, I’m an introvert. So, opening up to people and meeting people is not the easiest thing. I always had like a beer or something, as my coping magnetism. Now, I don’t drink hardly any more when I go up but I still kind of bring that “I’m a little tipsy” persona. I just remember that feeling of being tipsy and bringing that to the stage.

Being an introvert, what made you want to do stand-up? What was the first experience like?

It was back when I had my first divorce. It was back when I met you. My therapist, at the time, was like, “You need to distract yourself. Find some hobbies.” It was like two in the morning, and I couldn’t sleep. I was going through Facebook, and I saw a bunch of comedy competitions. I always liked it and always wanted to try it. So, I signed up for it and that was it!

That’s awesome! What was your best showing and where was it? What was your worst showing and where was that?

My best showing, I think would have to be… (He thinks) Man, that’s kind of hard. But my worst showing, that’s kind of hard too. (I laugh) I guess the one I am most proud of is the one I did in Minneapolis for the World’s Series of Comedy. As far as the worst performances have to be one of the open-mic nights where I’m just up there and it feels horrible. The open-mics that is comics only, so no one really laughs at your stuff because they’re practicing their own stuff and hanging out. It’s kind of like, “Eh, no one’s listening.”

Yeah, it is a horrible experience when no one laughs at your jokes, especially onstage. What is your process like when you work on materials? How do you come up with that?

As far as coming up with ideas, I guess I daydream a lot. I just make scenarios in my head. And that’s kind of how the jokes come by.

That’s interesting. So, when you sign up for a gig or when you’re going to a gig, do you go through those scenarios, or do make them up for each particular gig? What do you do?

Now it’s at the point where I have certain jokes. I know for sure what jokes I’m going to do and where at. And now that’s kind of the vibe. I’ll do what everyone likes. If they like “dating jokes”, okay, I’ll do dating jokes! If no one laughs at the first dating joke, I’m like, “Okay, let’s talk about something else!” But I don’t really go in with a setlist. I have ideas. I’ll just do a joke and then take it from there.

Do you go off of jokes based on where you’re at or do you just stick to your set list?

I just do my set. It’s more storytelling. I don’t have to know what’s going on in their town and they don’t have to really know about me. They can listen to the story and pick up on it. I got tired of looking up what was going on in a town. In the nicest way, I really don’t care. (I laugh)

And it’s less work for you!

Yeah!

I see. I like that. Who are your idols in stand-up?

George Lopez is one of the first comics I found. I would watch Comedy Central, as a kid. I still remember those jokes! Recently, Nate Bargatze is who I look up to. He got that kind of introvert style I started off with and showed you don’t have to be like Kevin Hart. You know, like yelling and screaming, or jumping around like some of the other comics do. You can be like him, chill, and talk.

Do you still watch George Lopez’s work?

I watch the old ones. The newer ones… eh, it’s alright. But he’s going after his greatest hits. It’s hard to top. (I laugh)

Comedy is a very hard job, especially for stand-up. Do you agree with that statement?

I do. I have a joke all about that! Comedy is one of the last freedom of speech. You can get away with anything, as long as it’s funny. That’s basically true with anything. If people like it or it’s funny, you can get away with anything. But then you can come across the wrong people and the littlest things will set them off. So, it is very tough.

What is the easiest thing about stand-up, and what is the hardest?

I think the easiest thing is coming up with the jokes. You don’t know if they’re funny or not until you go up onstage. They’re your jokes, so you think they’re funny—that’s the easy part: just writing the jokes. The hardest thing is making the joke funny.

So, I have to ask this question because you’re a comic… First, what are your thoughts on the Chris Rock and Will Smith situation? But also, with Dave Chappelle and the incident when he was performing at Netflix is a Joke Special?

So, the Chris Rock and Will Smith situation, I’m honestly lost and confused about it. I’ve seen the pictures and the clips where he (Smith) is laughing at the first part of the joke and that confuses me because then I’m like, “Why did you slap him?” It’s not like he (Rock) called her a horrible name or insulted her. It was also a pretty intellectual joke. You had to know he (Rock) was talking about the movie (‘G.I. Jane’). Even if you didn’t know she had a condition, I didn’t know she had a condition. I just thought he (Rock) was making a ‘G.I. Joe’ joke. I liked the joke.

I did too. I didn’t get it at first until I looked up the movie with Demi Moore. Then I realized it was about the hairstyle. I found it more amusing once I knew the joke. The movie isn’t that big though, so it wasn’t that great of a joke. (I laugh)

Yeah, once you know the joke then it’s funny. But I don’t agree with what he (Smith) did with the slap. It was a joke. If you don’t like the joke, move on.

What about Dave Chappelle?

I don’t think he deserved to get beat up, from what I’ve seen. But he definitely deserves something for going up there and interrupting the show like that. I have a friend, who’s a comic, and he does a joke about him being stabbed onstage one time! So, it’s dangerous because you’re going to offend someone one day and they’re going to come and attack you. Should the guy have been beaten that badly, probably not. But should he get something? Sure.

There are a lot of articles out there from different comics that have come out and they feel, with these situations, they’re uncomfortable. They feel unsafe that someone could just come on the stage one day and harm them because of incidents like those two have happened. Has that entered your brain? Do you agree with what they’re saying?

I agree with what they’re saying because I’ve made jokes and some people will get a little mad and offended. For me, it’s definitely more like “let me read the room”. It’s true, it can happen.

Yeah, definitely now with those incidences because people might feel it’s okay to get up onstage.

And it’s not.

I agree. Are you worried when you go on stage now or do you think about it?

No, it’s like a different vibe. If I go onstage, it’s like an autopilot vibe. I react to the audience. If they’re not liking the joke or something, I transition out of it! So, I don’t ever feel like I’m in a joke and think, “Oh, I’m in trouble”! (I laugh) I have not had that happen.

I’ve seen on your page that you do, not only stand-up in English, but in Spanish too. Is that true?

I’ve started doing Spanish.

Which of the two is easier to do?

Spanish is the harder one to do.

Really?!

English is easier for me. I mean, English is the one I’ve been doing for the last three years! So, doing Spanish is brand new. I have to find my rhythm and voice in Spanish. I speak it but I can’t even translate all my jokes into Spanish. Some don’t translate well. It takes a longer time. Everything, to me, just comes in English.

Interesting. Are you still doing both?

Yeah, I’m actually the only one who does a Spanish show! It’s really hard to find Spanish-speaking comics. I’m really glad to have the next few months booked.

So, you’ve been doing this for three years. Is there a change in comedy today, versus when you started?

In the last three years? (He thinks) I would say yeah. Just from what I’ve seen, especially on social media. There are a lot more people getting opportunities that they’re not ready for. I’ve seen it more on a smaller scale. I’ve seen them funny on Tik Tok or something. They’re funny making reels. But then onstage, they’re not funny.

I see, it takes away from the real stand-ups.

Yeah, it’s like working at a job for ten years and the new guy shows up and gets paid twice as much as you!

Oh, I see. That is really hard… Is there any advice that you have for anyone that’s inspired to be a stand-up?

What I would say, and it helped me, is just have fun! Remember, just be yourself. Have the celebrities that you like, but don’t try to copy them or try to do their jokes. It’s not going to work out. Do what you like.

When you’re not doing stand-up, what do you like to do?

It’s not something I like to do, but I work a lot. I just hang out. I go with my wife to the movies and stuff. A lot of it though is work and comedy.

Do you watch a lot of Netflix comedy specials, or do you just watch television shows?

Just TV shows. Every now and then, I’ll watch a special.

What is your favorite special that has come out recently?

I have seen a lot of articles on him. I find it interesting that he’s not afraid to say what is on his mind, especially during cancel culture. To see him thriving really fascinates me.

It goes back to what I’ve been saying, you can say whatever you want as long as it’s funny!

How can people follow you on social media?

Instagram is where, I don’t really post a whole lot, but that’s the more active place you can follow me.

Finally, if you could describe yourself using three adjectives, what would they be and why?

Three adjectives… (He thinks) I would say dumb, smart, and the last one I guess I’ll say is stupid. I can be pretty dumb sometimes. (I laugh) But I can be pretty smart, too! You can talk to me about some topic, and I can be pretty smart! And then stupid is because, which I don’t how, I can be dumb and smart at the same time. So, it’s kind of stupid that I can do that.

It was such fun to sit down with him again and I hope to see him again, soon! If you haven't checked out his work, or if you're interested, check him out! Go see his show—you won't regret it! I see him having a bright future ahead of him, in this line of work. He's a hard worker and it shows in every joke he makes.

I want to thank Johnny for taking the time to sit down with me! It was an honor!


If you or someone you know have a story that you would like to share, please contact me. This is all experience for me. I would love to share any and all stories I can!


47 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page