top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

My Interview with Cosplayer Blossom Fox: "Wear What You Love And Have Fun Doing It"


Blossom Fox as Bowsette
Photography by Ignis Umbra

I have known Cosplayer Blossom Fox (Fabi Carmichael) for well over a decade. She is someone I looked up to when I was a kid and today, she still inspires me.


Cosplay is mainly known at Anime Conventions where fans of anime and comic books dress up as their favorite characters. Conventions have grown popular over the years with Anime Expo, LVL Up Expo, and the most famous convention San Diego Comic-Con. I have been to a few conventions in my lifetime and each time, I had fun. There is a broad array of experiences anime conventions offer, from the panels, guest stars, the merchandising booths, and more. But mainly, the fun of getting to witness cosplayers bring their favorite characters to life.


Since I have known Blossom, she has had one true passion in her life: cosplay. And over the years, I have gotten to see her love of the unique craft bloom into the beauty it is today. For many years, I have been a fan of her works and love seeing any pictures she shares with the world. Cosplay takes a lot of time, energy, money, and most of all, creativity. For Blossom, she makes cosplay look effortless and fun.

Blossom Fox as Ursula
Photography by Ignis Umbra

Cosplayers put a lot of effort and time into their hobby. It is an expensive hobby to have. I have witnessed some impressive cosplayers at conventions. I admire the time and commitment they put into each and every costume. Of course, with good- there is always bad. I have also both witnessed, and heard, ugly comments from critics about individuals who cosplay. Body and race shaming have always played a part when it comes to this community, even today. It is a problem that is faced not only when it comes to cosplay but also life in general. Body and race shaming is a problem we constantly ignore, and it is time to address it.


I got to sit down with Blossom Fox in her home. During the interview, she discusses what cosplay means to her, thoughts on body shaming, tips for newcomers, and how you can follow her on social media! Read the interview below:


Cosplay seems to be a thing that more of the younger generations know, but not a lot of the older generations. So, how would you define "Cosplay" to someone who has never heard of it?

Well, basically it just means "Costume Play". For Cosplayers, it's like Halloween, but it’s all year round for us. We might put more effort into how they look than we would on Halloween. Wigs, of course, make-up, and everything. You're basically trying to transform yourself into that character. It's not just putting on something and going to a party; you're trying to become them. Some people take it to a point where they'll change their personalities to whatever they're wearing, to be just like that character.


Blossom Fox as Bowsette, showing off her back
Photography by Ignis Umbra

Have you ever taken it that far?

I think I did it twice. (She laughs)


Oh, what characters were you?

I think I did it with Bowsette. I don't know what it is when I put her on, something just clicks. I just have so much fun with her that I become her.


What would be her personality (Bowsette)?

She's just kind of like bubbly and sassy. She's fearless and all over the place. Not afraid to talk to people; very outgoing. That's her personality, in my opinion.


In real-life, are you like that or opposite?

Typically, when meeting new people, I'm kind of quiet. I might find one person to try and relate to, but I don't necessarily "jump in the group". I'm not that much of an outgoing personality, but that’s how I see her (Bowsette). So that's how I am when I wear her.


What age were you when you started cosplaying? And what was the character?

I think fifteen years old. It was the very first time I realized this was something you could do. I was in Japanese Club, and some of my classmates were talking about "cosplay". I was like, "What is that?” I ended up getting my first costume, which was Sango from 'Inuyasha’ shortly after. It was her traveling kimono outfit. I still have it to this day, and I’m planning to frame it at some point because it’s so nostalgic to me.


Have you tried putting it on again?

The last time I tried to wear her was about five years ago and it just fit then. It doesn't fit me anymore though. Such is life. (She laughs)


What age were you when you realized you wanted to do this for a hobby in life?

I think it goes back much further than that day. I remember being ten or eleven years old and watching 'Sailor Moon'. I was like, "I wanna be that character. I want that outfit, those powers. I want to be able to do that". And years later, when I found out cosplay was a thing- I was like, "We CAN do this". I got more serious when I was nineteen. I started gathering materials and anything I could find, to put together who I wanted to wear. I probably would've started being serious about it sooner, but until it started going mainstream, it was really hard to find stuff.

Blossom Fox with fiance James
Photography by Michael Keene

I was going to ask you: Is it easier to find stuff now, than it was then? Because now it seems now it’s at the click of a button.

Now you’ve got dozens of websites you can find things from. Patterns are easier to find. Back then, you were scouring the internet for anything that even kind of resembled what you needed. It was damn near impossible to find full costumes most of the time.


I bet it was. Definitely easier now... What has been the most fun about cosplaying for you?

It's all the people I have gotten to meet along the way. You hear bad things about every community but in this one, I found mostly good people. I’d even say that 85% of my friends, including my fiancé (James), I met because of this community. And these have been wonderful friends I've had through the years.


With the friends you have met, have you done group cosplays?

Yeah, I've done a few. I haven't planned a very big group cosplay myself in a few years because it's really hard to organize. But I would like to do more. Photo shoots are a bit easier. The last 2 group ones I did were for a photoshoot. We did a sexy Disney Villains shoot, and before that, the 'X-Men' Zombie shoot my friend organized—both were fun!

Blossom Fox as Rogue
Selfie by Blossom Fox

I bet the break in-between photos, like getting coffee or lunch, in that shoot was the best! (I laugh) Saying like, "I'm going to sit by Dead Storm over there". (I laugh)

(She laughs) Yeah, like, "Don't mind me. This isn't brains- it is just dirt. We're fine."


What's the most challenging thing about cosplay?

Uh, honestly, I think for myself, it’s trying not to compare myself to others too much. And now that it’s more mainstream, it's harder because I've had, a lot of times, cosplayers I look to and admire. And I'll be like, (with certain characters) "Oh... I’ll never look as good in that... I think I better take that off my list. I don't think I can ever do it." I have to fight with myself, constantly, on that. I have to tell myself, “Don't not do something because you think someone else has done it better. Do it because you love it”. That's a constant battle for me.


I feel like that's life, in general. I feel I have had to face, as I'm getting older, now in my twenties battling with that too. I've had to say, "I'm not my friends, who are successful," and I've had to tell myself, "That's okay".

It's kind of like that with cosplay. It's like when you see someone do a character really, really good- It's kind of like, "That character belongs to them". You don't feel you can do better, and you don't feel you can compete with it. You just have to remember, it's not a competition.


Have you ever overcome that feeling? Or do you basically treat it as a "copyright" thing for them. Like "They did it and that's it"?

I have managed to break myself of that thought path twice. Poison Ivy was one of my first favorite costumes. Typically, you see her, and she is very thin. Very voluptuous- and very sexy. And I remember being like, "I wanna be her but I don't feel like I am that". I actually had a couple friends talk me into it, being like, "Just do it. Put it all together and see how it looks!" So, I made her my way and it ended up being a favorite of mine for years.

Blossom Fox as Poison Ivy
Photography by Chase Cutler

Were you amazed with the outcome?

I was honestly very pleased with the outcome. It's one of those things where I got it on and was like, "Is that me? Is that really me?" And then when I got to see the pictures, afterwards. I was like, "Oh, my God! That is me!" (She laughs)


Yeah, it definitely changes your perspective when you actually do it.

It's very rewarding if you can get past that feeling. I don't know how others feel, but as a plus sized girl, it can be a struggle to get past that.


I remember, for many years, going to conventions- It seemed a lot of people would be saying, "Oh, there are people here wearing outfits that they don't fit into" and "They’re showing more skin than they should". I remember that always being a conversation.

Yeah, if it’s something “outside the norm” for certain characters, unfortunately many looks past the creativity and hard work, to sexualize or shame it.


No matter where you go, there's always somebody that has to body shame someone for, say, wearing a 'Sailor Moon' outfit, whether they're ‘too big’ or they're a certain race. Speaking more on the stigma of body shaming, do you think that's a real thing today?

I feel it’s kind of always been there. But that’s society as a whole, I think, and not just with the cosplay community. With it being mainstream now, there are beautiful model types that fit the images of characters perfectly. I actually applaud them for it, and envy them a bit. At the same time, having been there, I feel, it can be intimidating to those who don’t look like them that also want to be that character. And also, people who want to venture out and make sexy versions of said characters, whether it'd be for themselves or for Patreon, they get shamed. "Slut shamed". It's horrible. It doesn't matter if you're big or small now, someone is always going to try to tear you down. Someone will always want to make another feel less than they are.

Cosplayer Blossom Fox
Photography by Ian Moore

Have you ever fallen victim to body shaming?

Personally, I haven't. But I have three or four friends, who have stopped cosplaying because of it. They're like, "I just don't want to deal with it anymore. It's not worth it". They'll still go to the conventions and walk around, but they're not dressed up like they used to because they almost feel like they can't. They feel no matter what they wear, they're going to be judged...


If you had a chance to speak to the ignorant people who judge people like your friends, would you? If so, what would you say to people like that?

Oh... Choice words... (She laughs) But really though. I’d tell them we’re all in this community for the same reason: because we love the characters we wear, and the stories that made them our favorites. We’re all just a bunch of nerds being nerds and trying to have fun. So why tear each other down? This community was built on people who, at the time, were "different". Let’s support each other so it can continue to grow without the toxicity.


I really like that line you said earlier, "It's society as a whole and not just in the cosplay community".

Because it's not. I just think it's noticed more where people put themselves on display. If that makes sense. When you dress up in character and go out, in a way, you are putting yourself on display. I don't know about others, but for me, I hope that if someone likes my costume, they'll tell me. I hope if they think it's really good, they'll want a picture. But I also have, in the back of my mind sometimes, "I could be made fun of today..." It's hard sometimes.

Blossom Fox as Madame
Photography by Ignis Umbra

I applaud you by the way-- If it's that hard, why do you continue to cosplay?

I'd say, if anything, it is my own anxiety that makes it difficult for me. I sometimes have thoughts like, "Is this going to look okay when I go out? Should I cover up more? Is this appropriate for someone my size?" It makes it hard. But for me, I've been doing this more than half my life. It's an outlet of creativity. Where I really feel I can be myself and make something I feel proud of. It's something I have always gone back to. This is something that has stayed with me for more than half my life. It's more battling with myself than anyone on the outside. But because I love it so much, because it means so much to me, I'm not going to stop doing it.


Do you think body shaming, on any degree, will ever stop?

Um, unfortunately no. I think getting bullied for being different is always going to be an issue. If anyone looks different or doesn't "fit the mold", they're going to be picked on... People are averted to things that are different... Especially to someone who is not like them. And we've been that way, as a society, for hundreds of years- I don't see that changing anytime soon, unfortunately...


How do you feel about body shaming?

I think it’s terrible. We’re all built differently, and we should celebrate everyone’s uniqueness. If you think about it, it would be a very boring world if we all looked the same.


I started noticing things about myself, as I have gotten older, about mortality. I think we all fall victim to realizing our youth is fading. I think of grim things like that, but do you feel that way? And what are ways you combat the grim truth that we all face?

It's funny about me: I don't like change, but I am incredibly adaptable. And that goes to any situation. So, for me, it's more "We have to accept and adapt" and then I'll move on, whether it takes a while to accept or not, depends on what it is. Applying it to cosplay, I never really thought about it. Yeah, I'm getting older, but it's never bothered me in this world. I always felt like I would be doing this until I was old anyways. I will cosplay characters in my age group until I'm ninety, God-willing! (We laugh)


What would you say to young people, and/or new people, that are going to grow older and want to do cosplay but are shamed by their race, their body, or their age?

Bluntly? Screw what other people say! If it's a character you love, and it's something that is special to you: Go for it. Who cares what others think? It doesn't matter if you're black, white, Asian, Hispanic-it doesn't matter. If you have a character you love, be them.

Blossom Fox as a Witch
Photography by Haley G. Photo

I was telling you before we started the interview, about your photos, there's this "Awe Factor" to them-

Aww, thank you. (She laughs a little)


It's just so good. I know some friends who love characters, like Bowser, but worry about wearing outfits like that and think it'll just "be silly". I'm like, "It's not".

Well, I’d say that conventions are the place to be silly. (We laugh)


I feel like, with every photo shoot I see of you. There has not been one where I felt like you "weren't in it". It really looks like you're always having fun, so are you having fun? What do you love about photo shoots?

A lot of the times, we don't get "behind the scenes" shots, but when you do- You can tell we're having a blast together. My secret is: I don't take myself too seriously. You're here to be silly. Like we're going to "dress up like a dragon today", or we're "dressed up as an elf-princess". Let's just have fun with it! (I laugh) I think I like doing shoots, more than anything else, because there's a closeness you get with the people you work with- rather than just walking around at a convention. You actually get to spend "real time" with them. Whether it's your friends or people you don't know- it's always fun. I have such wonderful memories from every shoot. I get to work with people I care about and meet new people, with common interests.


Is every shoot always the same or is it a different experience every time?

It's the same, but sometimes different. I've only worked with a few photographers. And more often than not, I'll work with my friend Rich, and now Eric, because we've become good friends. It makes it that much more fun because I'm not embarrassed to do something silly in front of them. If I have to pose a certain way, I'm not like, "Oh, God, I look so stupid right now." (We laugh) Anytime a shoot comes up and it's something I'm interested in, I'll be there.

Blossom Fox as Ursula, full view
Photography by Egonzo Photos

Are there any shoots set for the near future?

Nothing at the moment that’s solid. I wanted to do a Valentine's Day Disney Villains shoot. But I didn’t have the time to really organize it since everyone is on different schedules and I'm typically only available on weekends. Quarantine is, more or less, over. So, everybody is back to work. It's a bit harder to coordinate with a group. It's a lot more fun but definitely more complicated to organize. I also don’t have any solo shoots planned at the moment. Trying to get some new things put together first.


I have to ask now. What Disney Villain would you be, if the shoot happened?

Well, I've done Ursula. So, always Ursula. (She laughs) She's my favorite. I did a type of fashion-couture version of her in October. But I still want to do the actual version of her, from the movie, with the big tentacles and everything. That's definitely on my list.


You would be every Drag fan's dream.

Oh, well I hope so. (She laughs)



Blossom Fox as Princess Mononoke
Photography by Chase Cutler

Let's get down to your cosplay work. What is the most challenging cosplay you've ever done?

I probably have over 60 costumes in my closet... Um... The most challenging but most rewarding was probably my Princess Mononoke. I made her completely from scratch. Completely. The only thing I had any help with was the mask and the dagger. Those were 3D printed, but I still had to sand them down and paint them myself. Everything else I sewed together myself. I crafted the jewelry and everything myself. It took me about 3 weeks. But it was so rewarding when it was finished, and I put it on. I wore it for Anime Expo in 2016. It was so much work. But after seeing the results, I'm so happy with it. I'm happy and proud that I made it.


What is your favorite cosplay you've done?

Oh, God. That is so hard... For a lot of years, it was a couple versions of my Poison Ivy. Then for a couple years, it was Bowsette because I just felt like I could be ridiculous with her. It was fun. But right now, I think it's my Anna from 'Frozen 2'. I've worn her more than anything else I own. I've worn her for conventions, numerous photo shoots- I even worn her for a child's birthday party. It was so much fun. And during quarantine, I self-filmed a series of "short stories from Arendelle", reading to the kids as Anna. I love being her. I feel like I resonate with her very well.

Blossom Fox as Anna from 'Frozen 2'
Photography by Ignis Umbra

What's your least favorite cosplay?

At a friend's request, I did a female version of Death the Kid from 'Soul Eater' for Sabakon in 2017. For starters, I don't like 'Soul Eater'. I'm sorry, but I couldn't get into it. But my friend said, "No, it'll be fun- it'll be a group. It'll be casual!" So, I was like, "Okay, but only because you asked me to." (She laughs) We had five of us dressed up as characters from it, but I remember, other than it being comfortable to wear, the whole day I was just not feeling it.


Given the chance, what character would you love to play, where are they from, and why?

I've come to accept the fact that this will probably never happen- And I'm okay with it. But it's still my "Unicorn". I'd want to be Priss from 'Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040'. It's an older anime, that was pretty big in the late 90's, early 2000's. Animation's style is gorgeous. She wears a mech suit that form fits her body. On top of that, she has a motorcycle that transforms into the MotoSlave armor, which is armor on top of her suit. It is absolutely ridiculous looking, a cosplayers nightmare, (She laughs) but I think it's one of the most amazing things. She was one of the first non-princess, ‘badass female’ characters I really liked. She’s a rock singer and a bit of a loner, but she’s always the last man standing in a fight. I just love her character so much.

Blossom Fox as Lady Thor
Photography by Ignis Umbra

You know now, if you haven't played this character by the time you're 90- I'm going to tell you to play this character! (She laughs) Have you ever had the problem of making something and then it becomes "easily available" afterwards?

My Priestess Miaka from Fushigi Yuugi. With the help of a friend, I made it within 2 weeks in 2015. I made all of the jewelry myself too! It wasn’t something that was available anywhere then, but various sites now offer it for custom orders. It’s all about timing it seems. (She laughs)


Is there a Cosplay Artist that inspires you?

Kamui Cosplay is amazing; she even has a series of her own books to help other cosplayers make their own various cosplay pieces. I also love Kinpatsu Cosplay, NipahDubs, Bethanie Garcia, and cosplayer and wig maker, Jannetincosplay. I’m also inspired by well-known local cosplayers Cheyenne Wise, Kalika, and Vamplettes. The list could go on. I just love seeing all of them craft and bring things to life in their own styles. They inspire me to keep going, and I hope to be as good as them, one day.

Blossom Fox as Padme
Photography by B Squared Photography

What advice would you give to anyone, in general, who is interested in cosplaying?

Wear what you love and have fun doing it. Don’t pay attention to any negativity. Anyone can be anything they want to be. Also, do lots of researching on materials and price comparing! Both for making and buying. It’ll help tons if you really get into it because it can be quite the expensive hobby. (She laughs)


What is the best advice you've ever learned?

I'm not sure where this came from... It could've come from a baking show, not sure... "Always remember to have fun. It’s not a competition on who’s the best. It’s about putting work into something you love".


What is your next big outing?

My next big outing will be LVL Up Expo, at the end of February. I’ll be there all three days, the 25th-27th. I'm hoping to have at least one new costume ready for it.


Are you willing to share what that costume is, or do you want to wait?

Um... I'm going to wait because I'm waiting for it to arrive right now. So, I don't want to jinx it. (She laughs)


How many characters are you planning to be at the event?

Two for sure, possibly a third. It’ll depend how tired I am by Day Three. (She laughs)


Sitting down with Blossom Fox Cosplay gave me inspiration and hope for future cosplayers. Conventions are finally coming back since their pause during the pandemic. Cosplay is an art that should be viewed and admired; not ridiculed and diminished by horrid individuals. Let us embrace what we love and continue to grow for a positive future.

You can follow Blossom Fox on Facebook and Instagram now!


This was my first interview and I hope to do more in the future! If you or someone you know have a story that you would like to share, please contact me. This is all experience for me. I would love to share any and all stories I can!

108 views0 comments

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page