top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Yeager

Adam Yeager's Poetry Collection of Summer 2022

Updated: May 9, 2023


Going back to school has been tough but rewarding. I finally took my first Creative Writing course this past summer.

I will admit, I was a bit nervous about it. But I love to write, so the nerves quickly went away! I felt I wanted to share the poetry I did for the class with the few people who actually read my blogs! It is fun and simple, for me, to write poetry. There are many rules to follow when it comes to certain styles of poetry that makes it challenging and fun for me to tackle. I will go through the story of how each poem was created!

Please, read on!

Poem 1: Writing Every Word (Abecedarian/ABC Poem)

I wrote another poem for this assignment, and I really enjoyed it. But I wrote it BEFORE reading the requirements for the assignment and automatically wrote this poem instead. We were required to write about our obsessions in life. Well, if you know me, my obsession is writing. Hint, the blogs... As much as I liked the first poem I wrote, this poem captures a little essence of my obsession for writing.

LIFE LESSON IF YOU'RE GOING TO/OR IN COLLEGE: Read the requirements first before starting the assignment... It will help... A lot...


Alone in my

Bewildered thoughts.

Courageously

Displaying my

Every word.

From beginning

Going to the end.

Having pieces of me

I find hard to express.

Just going through words I

Know but trying to

Learn new phrases along

My way.

Never stopping for an

Opportunity to

Purpose change;

Quality, too.

Ratifying my every

Single word.

To those who feel alone:

Unify togetherness

Versus the hatred.

Writing more than words.

Xenodochial with every meaning.

Young no longer, as I become

Zestful towards knowledge.

Poem 2: The Stars in the Sky (Ghazal Poem)

For this assignment, we had to read a lot of ghazal poems and write in the similar style and idea of whichever poem captured us the most. I was mesmerized with the reading of Even the Rain by Agha Shahid Ali. I love the rain but wanted something that means the world to me and that was stars. I love looking at the stars. Unfortunately, in Las Vegas, there are not many visible stars. Stars have seen it all since the beginning of time, like the rain, and there was a sense of beauty I felt in it.


We seek answers from above the stars in the sky?

A lover’s demise takes place below the stars in the sky.


“Our hands / all within reach”“Do we really fear the end?”

It’s near!“there is blackness / in our eyes” in the stars in the sky?


Even in oblivion—To hear silenceIt grows louder into nothingness.

We tend to forget the nothingness, we tend to forget the stars in the sky.


Hope is in love. Even when lost? It can always be found.

For lovers, the hopeless, it’s nonexistentwhere?the stars in the sky.


From the prickling ends of a sharp cactus, I know:

It is nothing without plastids and the stars in the sky.


How does love form fondlyfrom honesty? Communication? Or Truth?

Love shares a bond between two others looking up at the stars in the sky.


Is lonesomeness an everyone’s disease, beginning to end?

Do we have no one to talk to, not even the stars in the sky?


Our lives after even in death will end all that ever was:

The filthy air, land upon land around, the stars in the sky.


Do we know the unknown of life and of time?

For we all walk alone, the stars in the sky.


There is hunger, defeat, roaming the world with little to no effort

The feeling that rung deafening, on land to the stars in the sky.


There is war to stress upon, there are diseases to come;

There is love, that we wish, in the stars in the sky.


Peace heard ringing in the far-off distance, in the terrain

It echoes sweetly through all the way to the stars in the sky.


We are alone together roaming the rock we call home, but will we realize?

Every daughter and son of the red Earth is from the stars in the sky.

Poem 3: How I miss you more on these summer days (Villanelle Poem)

Sort of how I explained the ghazal poem and that process. I had to read many villanelle poems and get a similar style from a poem I liked the best. I chose to write after the poem Do not go gentle into that good night by Dylan Thomas. I really enjoyed reading that poem and felt I could go anywhere with a story. It was an eerie experience to write this poem and I feel pretty proud of it with the story I do tell! I first thought of the line, "How I miss you more on these summer days" and the rest came flowing out of me so naturally, that it felt like someone was whispering the words to me. It just kept coming and then I got to the line, "What happened to you, the memory stays/I can see you standing near our old tree," I realized I was writing a confession. A confession of someone who loved so much that they had to kill them to set them free. It was eerie when I wrote it. I felt like it was a story someone wanted me to share with the world. But still loved writing it.


How I miss you more on these summer days,

Our love was happy and bouncing with glee;

My heart burns faster, faster in a blaze.

As time goes forward, I’m stuck in a daze,

Enchanted. Your beauty is all I see.

How I miss you more on these summer days.

What happened to you, the memory stays

I can see you standing near our old tree,

My heart burns faster, faster in a blaze.

Closer, closer, I saw your fearful gaze,

The tears, the shivers, as you made your plea.

How I miss you more on these summer days.

Choking, screaming, in my mind that all plays

On repeat, with my hands, I set you free,

My heart burns faster, faster in a blaze.

I admit my mistakes. Still you, I praise;

Love, hatred, this secret remains with me.

How I miss you more on these summer days.

My heart burns faster, faster in a blaze.

Poem 4: Be My Once in a Lifetime (Sestina Poem)

Instead of reading sestina poems and taking a similar approach like the ghazal and the villanelle poem assignment; with the sestina poem, we had to take a line from a song we loved and make it into a poem. This was hard to think of... There are so many great songs and lines out there, that I had to pick one that held a story. One day, after work, I was listening to Love song by Lana Del Rey, and I heard it. It was a line that I loved when I first hear the song, back in 2019, but this was the song I wanted. As a romantic, this is probably one of the cutest/best lines I have ever heard, "Be my once in a lifetime", from there, the poem flew out of me!


Be my once in a lifetime

Tell me that you love me

Before you, I never experienced love

It was just a word I knew

Emotions rush through my head

My heart was empty before you.


I had nothing to look forward to until you

Can love last longer than a lifetime?

Your smile plays on repeat in my head

This is all brand new to me

What you do to me, I wish you knew…

Every day, I am finding more to love.


How does hate exist when there is love?

The pain goes away when I think of you.

The tears dried up and that is when I knew:

This love will last me a lifetime.

I am no longer thinking for me.

All day, I got you up in my head.


I no longer think with my head

When I got my heart filled with love.

Look what you do to me.

All I can think of is you.

There is not much happiness in a lifetime

But when I met you, I knew.


It was not long before I knew,

That I could not get you out of my head.

Memories like these, will last me a lifetime.

The bad will be clouded with all the love

And then there will just be you.

You, you are all I want for me.


Please, be gentle with me.

If you only knew,

All I ever want is you.

I cannot read inside your head.

Is this everlasting love?

With you, I’ll cherish this lifetime.


Together, we can spend our lifetime

Getting stuck in each other’s head.

For all I ever want is your love.

Poem 5: Let Go (Pantoum Poem)

This assignment we were told to make the poem be like a dream. I think life has a lot of stress and the one thing I truly want to do is let go. Let go of the stress. Just fly. Fall. Let go. It was helpful the day I wrote it because I was able to let go while writing the piece and made me breathe. We all have those days that are harder than most, so I hope this poem helps get you through a moment of that day!


I let go of the ledge to the world below

My legs and arms flutter mid-air

Releasing all the stress I have known

Plunging further and further


My legs and arms flutter mid-air

Dancing to the beat of my heart

Plunging further and further

Gravity leaves my body


Dancing to the beat of my heart

The butterflies flutter in the distance

Gravity leaves my body

The birds sing in harmony


The butterflies flutter in the distance

There is nothing to fear

The birds sing in harmony

Happiness fills the cloudy skies


There is nothing to fear

Rainbows all around me

Happiness fills the cloudy skies

There is peace at last.

Poem 6: My Meteor (Sonnet Poem)

This was the final poem of the summer semester, a love poem. For this assignment, I was instructed to write a love poem to my current love life/partner. There is so much I love about my man, that it became hard to think of what to write in all honesty. I love romance and the gestures that come with it. It took a few days to write something and for a while, I was worried I wouldn't have anything to write. I had to think of my partner and what makes me love him. I realized that he pushes me. He pushes me to my full potential and sees everything I am and everything I can do. He lights up my world like a meteor and then it hit me! Meteor! And then I got to work on this piece.


The world is a dark place; that is a fact

You are my light in the darkest of night

I stand before you, ready for impact

If you were shining, you would be my knight

You bloom life back like sakura in spring

To your cheeks of rose and salt pepper hair

Eyes piercing like a deadly bee sting

Your lines are brutal showing me you care

There are more rays of sunshine than the rain

You are the only shooting star I need

You are a mad scientist with your brain

With your gentle touch I no longer bleed

Your smile makes the nighttime into day

You are a meteor lighting the way

The summer is now over, as we embrace the fall. I'm looking forward to the new poems I will write this fall season. I hope you enjoyed reading these poems as much as I had fun writing them! Look for my fall poems, COMING SOON!

29 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page